Epicness

Just a few stories. Enjoy!

I was rustling …

I was rustling through the local paper. Where is it? I hear soft foot steps behind me. A smile creeps across my tired face. I feel his hand on my shoulder as he kisses the top of my head, “What’s the news today?” 

“Nothing out of the ordinary. Just articles about the local school food drive, information about the upcoming fair, etc.” I looked up from my paper to find him sitting across from me. His hand was in a gentle fist supporting his perfectly chiseled chin. The pink lips on his porcelain face are slanted upwards on one side, making a playful smirk. Those curious jade eyes were looking straight into my dull, brown eyes. I returned his smirk with a weak, measly smile. I quickly returned to reading the paper.

I have something to tell him. I’ve been pondering about it for a few months now. I have wanted to bring it up with him for a while now, but I cannot find the right time to ask. Actually…I’m just a chicken. There have been plenty of perfect opportunities. It’s time to establish an ultimatum. I have to tell him today. 

I continue skimming the pages of the black and white paper. “So. What are your plans today?” I ask not raising my eyes from the print.

“Nothing. Probably just staying home. Might rend a movie or two. What about you?”

I shrug, “I have nothing to do today either.”

“Why don’t we stay here all day in our pajamas and watch movies?” he proposes.

I grin with my head still down. I quickly wipe the goofy grin off of my face and look up with a gentle smile, “Sounds great.” I look back down and my eyes find what I was looking for all along right away. My article! Smiling, I look at the small article named “Dear Abbey.” I asked the stranger a question concerning what I’ve been thinking about for months now. I peer up from my article before I begin reading to find him still smiling at me. 

“Found your article, huh?”

“Yep. Starting to read it now,” I smile at him then return to the article. I start studying the reply to my letter…”…if you’re ready…think…breathe…speak.” 

Hours later, he and I are lying on couch together with our fingers intertwined. The movie that’s playing we’ve both seen too many times to count. This is that perfect opportunity.

Think.

Breathe.

 “I think you’re my soul mate.” 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

